3 LG Admin Nominees Fail to Clear Kano Assembly

The Kano State House of Assembly has cleared 32 out of the 44 local government chairmanship nominees presented to it by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje for approval.

Alhaji Ibrahim Garko, the Chairman, House Committee on Local Government, while presenting the report of the committee that screened the nominees, said three of them were disqualified, while nine had “pending” cases.

The Speaker, Alhaji Abdullahi Ata, on Monday read a letter submitted by the governor containing the names of the 44 nominees and directed the committee to screen them.

Garko told his colleagues on Wednesday that the nominees for Fagge, Garko and Dawakin Kudu Local Governments were disqualified and rejected.

He said: “The nominee for Fagge was disqualified because he is not a career civil servant; the one for Garko was dropped because of ‘geographical spread’, while Dawakin, Kudu nominee was disqualified because of his ‘poor manners’ during the screening.

He said that the 32 nominees cleared got the nod based on their working experience, qualifications, age and integrity.

The report was unanimously adopted and approved at the plenary session presided over by the Speaker.

The PDP has, however, gone to court to restrain the state government and the legislators from appointing an interim caretaker committee for the local governments.

The case filed before the State High Court was mentioned on June 30, with the presiding Judge and Acting Chief Judge of Kano State, Justice Nura Sagir, adjourning further hearing to July 24

Leave a Reply